Iowa FireBridge


ImageTrend EMS Service Bridge Logo   Iowa Department of Public Health’s Bureau of Emergency and Trauma Services (BETS) is the lead agency for the development, implementation, coordination, evaluation and fiscal oversight of the public health and hospital preparedness, trauma, and the EMS programs in Iowa. These programs are funded with both state and federal appropriations.

Education and technical assistance is a cornerstone of the bureau. BETS staff work directly with Iowa’s 99 counties, 118 hospitals, and more than 700 EMS services to provide resources and expertise to administer programs and improve health outcomes for Iowans.
   The Division of State Fire Marshal (SFM), established in 1911, is the oldest of the fire divisions within the Iowa Department of Public Safety. SFM was created to collect statistics on fire in Iowa and to develop fire safety regulations. Through promotion and enforcement of fire safety regulations, building code provisions, arson investigation, and firefighter training, the four Bureaus’ which comprise this division continue to have responsibility for reducing the loss of life and property by fire. The four Bureau’s include the Fire Prevention Bureau, the Arson and Explosives Bureau, the Building Code Bureau, and the Fire Service Training Bureau.